Skip to content

My Classmate Prabhu Deva. (Work In Progress)

May 13, 2012

Many summers ago, one day I was watching “Oliyum Oliyam” (a Tamil Songs program in DD). It was showing a new movie at that time – Agni Natchathram – song. “Raja Rajathi Rajan Intha Raja..” song. There was this tall skinny guy just behind Karthik. I just got out of my chair and I shouted “I know him – He is in my school” – My parents and my sister were giving me a strange look. They were like “U mean in ur school – San Thome High school” – I replied “Yes.”.

He was none other than Prabhu Deva who will later become an Indian Dancing Sensation. We completed our 10th std/SSLC and were waiting for our results. We were in different classes till 10th. So I didn’t know him at that time. In late May, results came and I was the State Topper in Tamil Nadu for Science. Press reporters and photographers descended on my home. I became a mini-celebrity when I returned to school for XI std.

Prabhu Deva also scored well in 10th (85%) and we both joined Computer Sciene batch. He just assumed I was a nerd and he started keeping a distance from me. I was not a nerd at all. I was a guy who knew lot about movies since I started going for movies with my mom from age 5. I also read a lot of magazines and newspapers, so I was up todate on tamil movies. I was very happy that I could talk to him and find out more about shootings, actors etc., He started assisting his dad during his school days itself.

We only briefly interacted in school. Even though I was good in studies, I did go for tution for couple of subjects. We were in the same Math tution class. The batch before ours was an all girls batch. Since he started helping his dad Dance Master Sundaram, he started skipping school and his grades fell steep from the previous year. So he was asked to trasfer to a different school. So he joined a school in Besant Nagar for Class XII.

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

